Skip to main content

Stelco's Board of Directors

Alan Kestenbaum
Executive Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Alan Kestenbaum has served as the Executive Chairman of our Board and our Chief Executive Officer since September 25, 2017. Mr. Kestenbaum has over 30 years of experience in the metals and mining production, trading, distribution and finance business. Mr. Kestenbaum founded Bedrock in 2015 in partnership with Lindsay Goldberg. He was also the founder of Globe Specialty Metals and was the former Executive Chairman of Ferroglobe PLC (NASDAQ: GSM).

Prior to forming Globe Specialty Metals, Mr. Kestenbaum founded Marco International, a leading international metals trader and investor, and led its expansion in North America and around the globe. He has extensive investing and operating experience in the natural resources sectors as well as a successful track record in turnarounds and restructurings.

Mr. Kestenbaum is the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Bedrock where he is responsible for setting the vision, strategy, investment objectives and providing direction to achieve the strategic objectives of the company. In addition, he serves as an independent consultant to Ferroglobe PLC, advising on matters relating to international trade, contract negotiations, legacy customer relationships and business development opportunities.

Michael W. Dees

Michael W. Dees has served as a member of our Board since September 25, 2017. Mr. Dees has been with Lindsay Goldberg since 2004, serving as a Principal before becoming a Partner in 2009. Previously, he worked at Morgan Stanley in the private equity and real estate private equity groups in New York and Tokyo. He earned his M.B.A. from Harvard Business School, where he was a George F. Baker Scholar, and his B.A. in Economics from Harvard College. Mr. Dees currently serves as a Director of Bell Nursery Holdings, Crane & Co., Dealer Tire, Odfjell Terminals, Schur Flexibles, VDM Group and Bedrock. He has previously served as the director of various private and public companies, including Aviv REIT and Klockner & Co SE.

Jeffrey B. Bunder

Jeffrey B. Bunder has served as a member of our Board since September 25, 2017. Mr. Bunder is a partner at Lindsay Goldberg and serves as CFO for Lindsay Goldberg. He previously worked for over 25 years at Ernst & Young, most recently as the Global Private Equity Leader. He also formerly served as a Transaction Advisory Services Partner at Ernst & Young where he managed relationships with a number of private equity funds and led transaction diligence engagements around the world. He earned his M.B.A. from New York University and his B.A. from Emory University and is a Certified Public Accountant.

Alan Goldberg

Alan Goldberg is the Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer of Lindsay Goldberg, a private equity firm that focuses on partnering with family-owned businesses and entrepreneur-led enterprises. Lindsay Goldberg was founded in 2001 and has invested in a wide range of industries in North America and Europe. Mr. Goldberg received his B.A. in Philosophy and Economics from New York University, his M.B.A. from the New York University Graduate School of Business and his J.D. from Yeshiva University.

Brian Levitt

Brian Levitt has served as a member of our Board since September 25, 2017, Mr. Levitt is the chairman of the board of directors of The Toronto-Dominion Bank. Mr. Levitt is also a director of Domtar Corporation and serves as Chair of the Finance Committee and is a member of the Human Resources and Governance Committees. He is the former President and Chief Executive Officer of Imasco Limited, a Canadian consumer goods and services company. Mr. Levitt also previously served in various executive and non-executive leadership positions at the law firm Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP. Mr. Levitt holds a law degree from the University of Toronto, where he also completed his Bachelor of Applied Science degree in Civil Engineering.

Peter Bowie

Peter Bowie has served as a member of our Board since September 25, 2017. Mr. Bowie is a corporate director who most recently served as the Chief Executive Officer of Deloitte China from 2003 to 2008, as well as a senior partner and a member of the board and the management committee of Deloitte China until his retirement from the firm in 2010. Mr. Bowie was Chairman of Deloitte Canada, a member of the firm’s management committee and a member of the board and governance committees of Deloitte International. He is a past member of the board of the Asian Corporate Governance Association and has served on a variety of boards in the private and non-governmental organization sectors. Mr. Bowie has a B. Comm. (St. Mary’s), as well as an MBA (Ottawa) and has an honorary doctorate (Ottawa). Mr. Bowie completed the Advanced Management Program (Harvard) and is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Ontario as well as a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Corporate Directors. Mr. Bowie is a director of Magna International Inc. and is a member of its audit committee.

Dr. Indira V. Samarasekera

Dr. Indira V. Samarasekera is internationally recognized as one of Canada’s leading metallurgical engineers for her groundbreaking work on process engineering of materials, especially steel processing.  Dr. Samarasekera served as the 12th President and Vice Chancellor of the University of Alberta, from 2005-2015, one of Canada’s most respected research-intensive universities.  She also served as Vice-President Research at the University of British Columbia from 2000-2005. She is currently a Senior Advisor for Bennett Jones LLP and serves on the Board of Directors of the Bank of Nova Scotia, Magna International and TransCanada. She also serves on the boards of the Asia-Pacific Foundation, the Rideau Hall Foundation, and the selection panel for Canada’s outstanding CEO of the Year sponsored by Caldwell Partners and Bennett Jones. Dr. Samarasekera was appointed by the Prime Minister to serve as a Federal Member to the Independent Advisory Board for Senate Appointments, until 2017.

Jacob Lew

Mr. Jacob Lew is a Partner at Lindsay Goldberg LLC, and previously served as the United States Secretary of the Treasury from February 2013 to January 2017. Secretary Lew had previously served as White House Chief of Staff for President Obama, Director of the Office of Management and Budget, a position he also held in President Clinton’s Cabinet from 1998 to 2001, and Deputy Secretary of State for Management and Resources. Secretary Lew previously served as Managing Director and Chief Operating Officer for two different Citigroup business units, and Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of New York University. Secretary Lew is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and the National Academy of Social Insurance. He received his B.A. from Harvard University and his J.D. from the Georgetown University Law Center.